Icarus Rising

(Image from Goodreads)

I knew immediately by the description that Icarus Rising by N.W. Moors was a book I’d fall in love with. I love anything to do with mythology, especially greek, so to have a story heavily revolve around those myths, I was more than please. And despite a few things, I wasn’t disappointed with the outcome.

I thoroughly enjoyed each of the characters. None of them felt forced on you, and all had their natural place in the story. By the end of the book, I wanted to know more about certain ones, especially Athena and Artemis. I want to know how they continue with their lives on earth and expanding the cafe. Artemis did a completely 180 after finding her niche, and I’d love to see the continued development of her character.

But that’s for (hopefully) another story.

Right off the bat, we’re introduced to Icarus in Hell, with an interesting encounter with Hades concerning his punishments. And I say punishments, because despite being returned to earth, still having the wings is a punishment to Icarus that binds him as a character for a good portion of the story. It was interesting to get that scene, to learn a little bit more about the workings of hell and how Hades runs it, the punishments he delivers. In complete contrast, when we meet Eve in the next chapter, we’re in a much calmer, happier place within her bookstore. It’s already an interesting dynamic right from the start, the balance between Icarus and Eve as they meet and get to know one another. And that only grows as the story continues and Eve learns the truth of who he, and all the gods, are.

The adventure the two go on in order to find the Golden Fleece was exciting. It was written in such a way that I felt like I was there, delving into the history, learning just as Icarus and Eve learned more and more of the story. Picking up clues and being apart of the ride as they searched for the one thing that would rid them of their punishments handed down by Zeus and Hades respectively.

There are a few times I feel like things are rushed, that just don’t quite feel right. Some of the conversation feels odd at times, not very natural between the characters. I did feel the connection between Icarus and Eve for the most part, but there were times they just didn’t quite click all the way. However, those times were few, and it didn’t take away from the book as a whole. I felt so drawn into the story that in the end it didn’t hinder the reading experience or how I felt about each character.

Icarus Rising was a wonderful read, especially if you’re a mythology nut like I am. I could barely put it down, and would love for there to be more surrounding some of these characters in the future.

My Rating: 4/5

Goodreads Rating: 4.33/5

Leave a Reply

