The Southern Gentleman: True Consequences

(Image from Goodreads)

Spoiler Free ARC Review

Is it getting hot in here, or is it just me?

I feel like this was my personal mantra the entire time I read The Southern Gentleman: True Consequences by Sweden Reese. And here I thought the first book was steamy, but it had nothing on the second one. There wasn’t a minute I was able to put the book down. Pretty certain I stayed locked up in my room the entire time. This is one book you do not want disruptions for. The thrill, the sexiness, the characters themselves, it was all just a wonderful read that I just didn’t want to end.

It was an absolute treasure watching Lola’s character growth. We saw those changes in her in Protective Instinct, but she really shined through in True Consequences. She went from a, at times, naive girl who was desperate to find the freedom she needed, to discover who she was, to a much more confident version of herself. She learned who she was, and not only what she wanted, but what she needed. And what she needed, what she fought so hard against at first, was what Nolan could provide for her. He brought the very best version of herself out of hiding. He helped her learn to follow what she believed in, what she dreamed of, when her own parents were trying to force her down another path. Lola blossomed with Nolan and the lifestyle he introduced to her.

There were two sets of thrills for me throughout this book. The first, without a doubt, was the sex and D/s relationship between Lola and Nolan. Not only was it hot and steamy, but it was so well written. There are so many times that I’ve read books involving D/s, and I’m left cringing and hardly able to continue reading. That never once happened while reading The Southern Gentleman. You can tell the thought and care put into writing the dynamic between Lola and Nolan, and that makes a world of difference. This is easily one of the better written D/s relationships I’ve seen in a good while, and I recommend these two books for that fact alone.

The second thrill I had was the action and suspense that surrounded the danger Lola was in. And then THAT moment happened when we discovered the truth, and my phone nearly didn’t make it from the drop in surprise. I was insanely shocked at the reveal, and never once didn’t I think that would happen. Once you read the book, you’ll understand exactly what I’m talking about. My mouth dropped open and my poor phone, I wasn’t sure it was going to make it. It’s so hard to be shocked with plot twists these days. Half the time I can spot them a mile away. But not this time. This was unpredictable and didn’t even register on my radar.

Both Protective Instinct and True Consequences are easily my top favourites reads right now. And I implore you, make sure to pick up both tomorrow when they’re available. You’re not going to want to miss any of the action.

My Rating: 6/5 (I’m breaking my rating scale, it was that damn good)

Goodreads Rating: 4/5

Make sure to grab Protective Instinct and True Consequences tomorrow, you won’t want to miss it.

Leave a Reply

