Love on the Sweet Side

(Image from Goodreads)

I love my romance with a dash of sweetness, a little bit of heat, and that little added excitement. It’s not always easy finding just the right book that has it all, but Love on the Sweet Side by Mariah Ankenman hit everything on my check list, and then some.

The connection between Maggie and Colton was great. While they have the history from when they were younger, the relationship didn’t seem forced or too rushed. Both had immediate attraction for the other, but there was no jumping into bed. You get that sometimes when the two characters already have a history. But Love on the Sweet Side offers the same development and enjoyment in watching two characters really get to know one another and truly connect that you would expect between characters that didn’t have that shared history. It made it that much more enjoyable to read.

The intrigue around who was going after the shop and Maggie was very exciting. The entire time I had one person in mind of who it was, and I was completely thrown for a loop by the end of it. There was a moment where I thought, oh what about this person, but then it just didn’t seem like the obvious choice. I LOVE that it ended up being that person and I was surprised beyond belief. I love when plot twists and the unexpected can keep me on my toes. That’s the sign of a great writer, having it make sense and all line up, but still making us readers guessing.

It was the connection between the characters and the plot twist that really made me fall in love with Love on the Sweet Side. Of course, I found myself so incredibly hungry throughout the entire book, wanting to chow down on every cupcake Maggie made in her shop. I think I gained 5 lbs just from reading.

Overall, a great read and a definite recommendation. It’s everything you want out of a romance novel, all mixed together for a great end result.

 

My Rating: 4.5/5

Goodreads Rating:  4.38/5

Leave a Reply

