NEW: Rescuing Harley

It threw me for a loop when I realized my favourite author was releasing the newest addition to the Delta Force Heroes series. I fell in love hard after Rescuing Rayne and Rescuing Emily, and I couldn’t wait to see what would come next for the Delta team. And I wasn’t let down at all.

Rescuing Harley might just be one of my favourite novels from Susan Stoker, and that’s such a huge feat considering I’m such an avid fan of all of her books. It’s difficult not to fall for her strong, independent characters, her unique and exciting plots, and the hot and steamy sex scenes. Rescuing Harley had all of those elements, and even more.

I love the character Harley. It’s so refreshing when you read a book about such a realistic character. Someone people can relate to more often than not. It’s frustrating when there’s that perfect character with the perfect hair and the perfect figure that seems like the ideal woman. And maybe she is, but she doesn’t ever feel real. Stoker’s characters, however, feel like they could be me. Or my best friend. Or the person I pass on the street. They become real people the instant you’re introduced to them. You understand their struggles. You can relate to why they’re self conscious or the way they see themselves. You root for them like you would a friend. And that’s Harley. She doesn’t just become another character, she becomes someone you feel for. Someone you’re excited about. That’s the power Stoker has not only with Harley, but with Coach and every other one of her characters.

Overall, Rescuing Harley is exciting, realistic, and a story you can really sink your teeth into. Harley isn’t some damsel. Even when she’s scared, she’s able to have a level head and find a way out of the situation she’s in. She’s strong, even stronger than she originally thought, and Coach makes sure she knows that. What I love about these two is that he loves her for who she is. He doesn’t want her to change. The one moment in the book when Harley dresses up for him, he appreciates the effort, but he immediately sees that she’s uncomfortable, that this isn’t who she is. And he’d rather the t-shirts, the long nights of coding and playing video games. He accepts her as she is, the strong, independent woman that doesn’t always need to rely on everyone else. She’s herself, and she’s unapologetic about it, just as she should be.

Without ruining too much, the last chunk of the book was great. It was fast paced, leaving us wondering as every hour passes just what happens with Harley. The emotions Coach goes through, especially after opening himself up to her completely, is so heartfelt and riveting. I couldn’t stop reading.

Just when you think all is well, that epilogue throws you for a loop. Once you’ve read the book, you’ll understand what I’m talking about, and you won’t want to wait for May 2017 for Rescuing Kassie to be released.

This is one of those books that I could read repeatedly and never be bored. A week after reading it, and I’m still in a book hangover over it. You’re in for a treat with Rescuing Harley, and I would absolutely encourage you to dig into all of Stoker’s series for a marathon of reading. It’s worth it.

My Rating: 5/5

Goodreads Rating: 4.55/4

 

Leave a Reply

