May Favourites

It’s been awhile since I’ve posted on this blog due to life and freelance work that took over my time. However, because I don’t think it’s impossible for me to suddenly stop reading, I have dozens of books I’m looking to review in the next handful of weeks. For now, I thought I’d bring my monthly favourites back.

May has been such a quick month, but there were such a wide range of brand new and thrift store finds that have just captivated me.

NEW: Anchor me by J. Kenner (This is actually an April fav, but it was too good not to mention)

The fourth book in the Stark series was just out of this world amazing. I was laughing. I was actually sobbing at quite a few parts, both sharing the pain of Nikki and Damien, as well as their happiness and relief. If you’ve read the series, you will fall in love with this new addition. And if you haven’t, I cannot even begin to recommend this series enough to you. If you’re interested, check out the first in the series, Release Me.

NEW: Rescuing Kassie by Susan Stoker

If you know me, and have read previous reviews, I think you’ll know I’m an avid reader of Susan Stoker. She had a few series (that all intertwine, which just thrills me so much), that I cannot get enough of. I reread her series over and over again, and I never find myself bored. The latest book in the Delta Force Heroes series is nothing short of amazing. Ever since the teaser we received in the last book, I’ve been waiting to read Hollywood and Kassie’s story, and I was so blown away when I finally could.

Keep Me Safe by Maya Banks

I picked this book up during one of my thrift store trips and I have to say, I think it’s become one of my top favourite books of all time. Everything about this book was gut wrenching in the best of ways. The first few chapters left me breathless, and it might always be for the faint of heart. But how Maya Banks deals with some sensitive topics, psychic abilities, and psychological thrilling twists, this is one of those books that you won’t want to put down for a single minute. I cannot wait to read the others in the Slow Burn series.

No Limits by Lori Foster

This was another recent thrift store pick and I was immediately taken with the story. Touching on the character’s rough and sensitive past, Foster was able to give the main characters development without forcing situations on them for absolutely no reason. The story moved along in a natural and flowing way that made me want to keep reading, hating when the book actually did end because I wanted to just read more about these characters. It’s not always easy drawing me into character’s lives, but Foster was easily able to do this right off the bat.

The Lone Star Sisters Series by Susan Mallery

I read through this entire series, and I was actually disappointed by the time the fourth book came along, simply because I knew I would be finished with the series when I just wanted to stay in Titan Texas with these women for much much longer. Each book focuses on a sister (and their good friend), and while sharing a series long storyline, each has their own plot and climaxes. What stood out the most to me, was Mallery’s ability to pull the wool over the reader’s eyes until we learn more and more about the series supposed “villain”. If you’re looking for a series you won’t want to put down, written solidly with characters you’ll be able to relate to, I absolutely recommend The Lone Star Series.

 

Leave a Reply

